November 29, 2006



The regular meeting of the Winnefox Library System Board of Trustees was called to order at 4:32 p.m. on Wednesday, November 29, 2006, in the Meeting Room at the Oshkosh Public Library by President Lewis Rosser.  Trustees present were: Lurton Blassingame; John Brennan; Debra Clark; Jo Dell’Antonia; Yvonne Feavel; Peter Gratton; Vern Hess; Jackie Jurkowski; Judy Malueg; John Muentner; Jeff Ogle; Mary Olson; Lori Pain; Kay Roethel; Lewis Rosser; Joyce Schoepel; Paul Wade; Tom Willadsen and Scott Woldt.  Trustees absent were:  Bonita Dresen; James Reiland; Merry Whipple and Tom Widener.  Also present were:  Jeff Gilderson-Duwe, Director of Winnefox Library System & Oshkosh Public Library; Richard Bowman, Oshkosh Public Library Business Manager; Mark Arend, Assistant Director; Julie Schmude, Administrative Services Coordinator; Tasha Saecker, Director of Elisha D. Smith Public Library; Cindy Wallace, WCTS Assistant Program Coordinator; Chris Carol and Diane Disterhaft, Co-Directors of Berlin Public Library; Stephen Proces, Director of Neenah Public Library; and Karen Boehning, WALS Program Coordinator.


Public comments:  none.



Motion to approve the minutes of the September 27, 2006 regular Winnefox Board Meeting.  Motion: Gratton; Second: Willadsen; Vote: Unanimous.



Motion to approve the September 2006 and October 2006 WLS Classification of Invoices Previously Paid.  Motion: Schoepel; Second: Brennan; Vote: Unanimous. 


Motion to approve the September 2006 and October 2006 WALS Classification of Invoices Previously Paid.  Motion: Woldt; Second: Clark; Vote: Unanimous.


Motion to approve the September 2006 and October 2006 WCTS Classification of Invoices Previously Paid.  Motion: Roethel; Second: Malueg; Vote: Unanimous.


Jeff Gilderson-Duwe gave the Report of the Director.


2007 Calendar of Board Meetings

Motion to approve the 2007 calendar of board meetings as contained in Exhibit A.  Motion: Woldt; Second: Dell’Antonia; Vote: Unanimous.


2007 County Plans - Approval

Motion to amend the presented 2007 Winnebago County Plan as follows:  page 3, #3a should read “The County agrees to provide the total County library appropriation of $2,009,099 for calendar year 2007 through a County tax levy pursuant to sec. 43.64, Wis. Stats.”  Motion: Woldt; Second: Schoepel; Vote: Unanimous.


Motion to approve the 2007 County Plans as amended.  Motion: Woldt; Second: Brennan; Vote: Unanimous.


Strategic Planning Proposal

Motion to approve the Strategic Planning Proposal as contained in Exhibit B.  Motion: Wade; Second: Blassingame; Vote: Unanimous.


Board Officer Election Nominating Committee

Vern Hess, Paul Wade, and Joyce Schoepel have been appointed to the Nominating Committee and will report back to the Board at the January meeting.


WLS Bylaws Change Proposal – Repeated Board Member Absences

The following proposed text for Article II, Section 4 of the Winnefox Library System Bylaws was discussed:


When any trustee is absent without notice from three regular meetings of the board within a calendar year the president shall notify the appointing authority of such absences, suggesting that consideration be given to a replacement on the Board of Trustees.


Motion to adjourn at 5:15 p.m.  Motion: Muentner; Second: Gratton; Vote: Unanimous.


Respectfully submitted,

John Brennan, Secretary

Julie Schmude, Recorder